Subscribe - enter your email below

Tuesday, April 24, 2012

April 21, 2012
Scott Foley

I'm generally an album guy, rather than a single guy.  I can download particular tunes, but never get the sense I've actually heard an album until, you know, I've actually heard the album in toto.  I find it quite a bit easier to select my favorite songs of the year, and devote much more time to assembling my albums list.

Having said that, instead of focusing on one album from this week's Episode, I'd like to focus on some especially good tracks from the playlist.  Fort Collins based Mosey West released the first song from their forthcoming Merica EP on their website, in celebration of Record Store Day.  "In Tune" is a very promising first peek into their second release, which I'll explore further this week.  Another Colorado resident, Joe Sampson, is also planning an album release.  Known for his work with Bad Weather California and Wentworth Kersey, his curiously dark "Kill Our Friends" is actually a spare but captivating piece recorded with Nathaniel Rateliff.  This week also heralds the arrival of full albums from fellow Colorado bands Oakhurst and Leftover Salmon.  Finally, I don't know that I could be enjoying the bits I've heard of Arliss Nancy's Simple Machines more, and will dedicate myself to tracking down the rest of the album this week.

I'll be back on my usual Thursday Morning Mix slot (10-noon) this week.  Friday will begin KRFC's all important Spring Membership Drive.  This year, we're  bringing in tons of area talent to help us speak to the station's dedication to quality music, from Colorado and abroad.  Next Episode, I'll be joined by a couple members of Turn 4, and next Thursday Texas transplant and phenomenal guitarist Matt Skinner will join me.  This coming week alone on KRFC, programmers will be assisted by the likes of Patti Fiasco, Halden Wofford & the Hi Beams, Mosey West, Jeff Finlin, Subdudes and many more.  Please tune in, and respond appropriately!

*  Oakhurst, "Sunshine"  Barrel  (Self, 12)
*  Micky & the Motorcars, "Thousand Tears"  Raise My Glass  (Smith, 11)
*  Gretchen Peters, "Hello Cruel World"  Hello Cruel World  (Scarlet Letter, 12)
*  Hellbound Glory, "Bastard Child"  Damaged Goods  (Rusty Knuckles, 11)
*  Steve Earle, "Ashes to Ashes"  Jerusalem  (Artemis, 02)
^  Mosey West, "In Tune"  Merica  (Self, 12)  D
*  Dave Alvin, "Rio Grande (live)"  Eleven Eleven (expanded edit)  (Yep Roc, 12)
*  Chelle Rose, "Shady Grove Gonna Blow"  Ghost Of Browder Holler  (Lil Damsel, 12)
*  Robbie Fulks, "Let's Kill Saturday Night"  Let's Kill Saturday Night  (Geffen, 98)
*  Todd Snider, "Mr Bojangles"  Time As We Know It  (Aimless, 12)  D
*  Arliss Nancy, "Front Seat"  Simple Machines  (Suburban Home, 12)
*  Waco Brothers & Paul Burch, "Great Chicago Fire"  Great Chicago Fire  (Bloodshot, 12)
*  Heartless Bastards, "Skin and Bone"  Arrow  (Partisan, 12)
*  White Buffalo, "BB Guns & Dirt Bikes"  Once Upon a Time In the West  (Unison, 12)
*  Alejandro Escovedo, "Five Hearts Breaking"  Gravity  (Watermelon, 93)
*  Leftover Salmon, "Kentucky Skies"  Aquatic Hitchhiker  (Los Records, 12)
*  Cary Hudson, "Rockin' Blues"  Mississippi Moon  (Self, 12)
*  Nanci Griffith, "Never Going Back"  Intersection  (Proper, 12)
*  Simone Felice, "You & I Belong"  Simone Felice  (Team Love, 12)
*  Paul Thorn, "Bull Mt Brigade"  What the Hell Is Goin On  (Perpetual Obscurity, 12)  D
*  Joe Sampson w/Nathaniel Rateliff, "Kill Our Friends"  internet single  (Self, 12)  D
*  Drive-by Truckers, "Outfit"  Decoration Day  (New West, 03)
*  Wandering, "Love Life and Money"  Go On Now You Can't Stay Here  (Songs of the South, 12)
*  Dinero, "Some People Push Back"  Sheep  (Self, 12)  D
*  Diamond Rugs, "Gimme a Beer"  Diamond Rugs  (12th St, 12)

1 comment:

The Longest Day of the Year said...

Last week was a great week, and this month a great month, for CO music! Thanks for sharing.